Day 98 – Back to Island life (Railay/Koh Lanta)

11th February 2019

Today we set off back to our bungalow in Koh Lanta on Long Beach. We decided to base ourselves in Lanta because I just fell in love with it when we went with Aew and Louise. It is cheap, not very busy and has all the amenities you need. I was very much looking forward to settling back in for the next few weeks and relaxing without having to worry about packing our bags and moving anywhere.

Before we left for our 10:30am ferry trip, Bang opened his shop early to let us in so we could drink our coffees with him. He really does seem to like us very much. We just spent a whole week with him yet he was sad to see us go to Lanta.

We were in a bit of a rush and Jake had to run back up to Rapala to deleiver the key so we didn’t have a lot of time with Bang. We quickly drank our coffee and headed to the west beach where we took a long tail boat to the ferry and then set off on our two hour journey.

The ferry ride was, as always, a lot of fun. Although I did get absolutly drenched in the first 10 min. I was on the side of the ferry and a huge wave or seven struck the side of the boat and basically everything I was wearing and had in me got wet. Shortly after that I decided to sit towards the back of the boat which was much better wave wise. It was about a million degrees (36) and the sun was belting down so my dress dried in about 5 min.

Scenery, beautiful as always. I cannot get enough of taking these boat trips in. I find myself taking photos of the same stuff I already have photos of so consistantly because I just want to record and share it all. I wonder if I will appreciate all the content I have produced from this trip once it is all over. I have a feeling I will. About half of it doesn’t even make it to social media and I post a lot on social media, so hopefully I don’t loose my phone again.

Ok shut up, here are some pictures…

Once back in Lanta we got a tuk tuk to our bungalow, always fun.

We arrived and got settled back in straight away. No sign of our cat though…

It was about 4pm by the time we had unpacked and what not and I had some time left in the day so I headed down to the beach. I felt so at home, everything was familiar and it was good to be back.

Jake joined me eventually and we caught the sunset and had some dinner then headed out to Irie Bar, a reggae bar just up the road from us. There was a band playing and a few dogs just laying around. It was pretty chill.

We spent a couple of hours there and headed to the mini mart we always go to for groceries.

Tonight we decided to have a few drinks there as it is kind of like a make shift bar but instead of inflated bar prices for everything you just go and get a drink from the mini mart. The tables are there for the bakery that serves all sorts of food and closes really late, the bakery is owned by the same people as the mini mart. It has a bathroom, which is clean and attached to the resort next to it (probably also owned by the same family), it has ice and cups you can buy, wifi and most nights someone has a speaker so there is also music. It is the only place in Lanta that is happening every single night. It’s genius and I have no idea why we didn’t make use of it earlier or how they even get away with it.

We stayed at the mini mart for a few hours and head home for a much needed sleep after the last few days of late nights.

Upon our arrival, who else was there to greet us, our very cute lady cat who we have really come to love.

She got a good feed and we went to bed.

Tomorrow we have organised to meet with some new friends who I met on Instagram. Weird story (not really a story), some dude posted a picture on insta and tagged Railay, I hence came across it and commented on it as I didn’t recognise where it was taken. This turned into us chatting and relising we were both going to be in Lanta at the same time and decided to meet up. So that’s tomorrow night.

Day time will likely be made up of coffee and beach.

Til then!

Leave a comment